Scott Taylor to join boyhood team

Prop forward Scott Taylor will join Hull FC from next year.

The 24 year-old is currently on a season-long loan at Salford Red Devils from Wigan Warriors.

The former Hull KR player has agreed a four year deal at the club he supported as a boy.

“I’m really happy that the deal is finally done,” Taylor told Hull FC’s website. “There’s been a lot of people guessing recently and I’ve had to keep it to myself but it’s great that it is complete and I’m looking forward to coming home and pulling on the Black and White jersey.

“My mum’s side of the family are all die-hard FC fans and all have season passes this year.

“My granddad, Gordon, died last year and was a huge Hull fan. He was always really supportive of me throughout my career but it was his dream for me to play for the Airlie Birds.

“I had a few options put in front of me, but there was only really once choice when I knew Hull wanted to sign me and I can’t wait. But for now I am just concentrating on getting my head down at training with Salford and helping them the rest of this season.”

Taylor was part of Wigan’s Super League and Challenge Cup double winning side in 2013, and he says he intends to win more trophies on Humberside; “Winning trophies at Wigan was an unreal feeling and I want to win more trophies, it’s the main reason I am joining the club. I spoke to Adam Pearson and to Lee and their passion and ambitions matched mine.

“It would be great to win trophies with my home team and I hope to bring my experiences of being in a double-winning squad to the team.”

Airlie Birds head coach Lee Radford said of Taylor; “Scott is a great acquisition and he showed why when he played against us earlier this season. He was fantastic on both occasions.

“He is a Hull lad, a Hull FC fan and comes from a Black and White family so he knows what the club means to the people of Hull and is really excited about playing his part in some success here.”

Leave a Reply

