Phelps ‘disappointed’ to be leaving Widnes

Widnes Vikings centre Cameron Phelps has today confirmed he will leave the club at the end of the season.

The 30 year-old’s contract with the Vikings expires at the end of the campaign and will not be renewed.

“I just want to say a massive thank you from myself and my family to all the Widnes fans,” Phelps said.

“I’ve really enjoyed my time at the Vikings and I’m disappointed that I couldn’t have stayed longer as I still feel I have a lot to offer.

“I’m going to miss all the lads. It has been an exciting four years and the progression we have made since rejoining Super League has been great.”

Phelps joined the Vikings from Hull FC in 2012, having previously played for Wigan Warriors and Canterbury Bulldogs in the NRL.

Vikings head coach Denis Betts commended Phelps for his efforts during his time with the club: “Cameron has been a key player for us in recent seasons and we are grateful for the contribution he has made to Widnes Vikings.

“We wish Cameron and his family all the very best for the future.”

Phelps joins Declan Hulme and Grant Gore in departing the club at the end of the season.

One comment

Leave a Reply

