Hull KR sign Thomas Minns from Leeds Rhinos

Leeds Rhinos centre Thomas Minns will join Hull KR on a three-year deal from 2016.

The 20 year-old centre is currently playing on loan at Championship side Featherstone Rovers and spent last year on loan with London Broncos, scoring six tries.

Minns said via Twitter: “I would just like to announce I will no longer be returning back to Leeds Rhinos after this year at Fev. I have thought about this decision for a long time and it was tough for me, but because of the limited game time/opportunities I would get at the club, with them already having world class centres, it would be very hard for me to progress and develop.

“I would like to announce that I have signed a three-year deal with Hull Kingston Rovers and I am over the moon!

“I cannot wait for the new challenge, meeting new people, learning and reaching my full potential.

“Now that is sorted I can 100% concentrate on the number one priority of reaching the top four and getting Fev into Super League.”

Meanwhile, Robins head coach Chris Chester told the Hull Daily Mail: “Thomas is someone we identified six or seven weeks ago, he’s certainly impressed me up at Featherstone. It’s a great move for the club and gives us that competition in the centre position and he can also play full-back too.

“He’s come highly recommended from everybody at Leeds and he’s been playing particularly well at Featherstone.

“He’s a good solid defender and he’s a special talent with the ball as well so, I’m absolutely delighted that we’ve managed to secure his services.

“It’s a position that we’re pretty light on, is centre, especially with Darrell Goulding retiring – but Thomas is coming on a long-term deal to give us that stability.”

One comment

Leave a Reply

