Tigers confirm Minikin signing

Castleford have signed Greg Minikin from York City Knights on a two-year deal.

The 20 year-old centre scored 16 tries in 25 games for the League One outfit this year, impressing Tigers coach Daryl Powell in the process; Powell said via Sky Sports: “Greg Minikin is an outstanding prospect. I have been really impressed with his ability during his time at York. He is a naturally strong player with a great instinct for the game.

“I’m confident he will be a consistent Super League player in the near future and I look forward to our coaching staff helping him achieve his potential,” the 2014 Coach of the Year added.

Knights’ Players’ Player of the Year Minikin said:  “I’m really excited. I’ve always wanted to play professional rugby league since I was a kid. Daryl was a big part in me choosing the Tigers; I’ve heard nothing but good words about him as a coach and as a person.

“He’s very good at developing young players and I can’t wait to work with him.”

Leave a Reply

