Wildcats sign Arona from Cronulla

Wakefield Wildcats have continued their preparation for Super League XXI by announcing the signing Tinirau Arona from Cronulla Sharks.

The 26 year-old forward, who has signed a one-year deal with Wakefield, becomes the second player to move to Belle Vue from the Sharks this week after the arrival of Anthony Tupou was confirmed on Monday.

Arona spent 2011-2013 playing for Sydney Roosters under current Wildcats coach Brian Smith, and Arona says that both Smith and Anthony Tupou were factors in his decision to leave the NRL: “Travelling with my good friend Anthony Tupou and reuniting with my first NRL coach Brian Smith makes this move even more exciting for me. I have played some of my best football under the guidance of Smithy and I’m looking forward to improving my game with him as my coach again,” the Cook Islands international told the club’s website.

Smith added:  “‘T’ Arona is not nearly as decorated as his teammate at the Sharks, Tupou. He is well known to me though from when he was a youngster at Roosters as a rookie.”

“His versatility and skillful play with feet and hands will add great depth to the Wildcats pack in 2016.”

“I cannot wait to put on the Wildcats jersey and with my new teammates make a big impact in this tournament.”
Arona is the seventh offseason arrival at Belle Vue as Smith continues to strengthen his squad.

Leave a Reply

