Garbutt pens new Rhinos deal

Mitch Garbutt has signed a new four-year deal with Leeds Rhinos, keeping him at the club until the end of the 2019 season.

The prop forward joined the club from Brisbane Broncos at the end of June and went on to lift the League Leaders Shield, Challenge Cup and Super League trophy in his first 14 appearances for the club.

Garbutt told the Rhinos’ website: “With how everything has panned out this season, I was delighted to sign a new deal and commit my future to the Rhinos. I am really excited about how things are going for the future. This is the most I have ever enjoyed my footie and I can’t wait for next season. I am looking forward to experiencing the weather this winter during pre-season and I think I will be better for it.

“My family and I have adapted well to life over here in England and a lot of that is down to the club and how well everything has been done for us from the moment we stepped off the plane from Australia; everything was pretty easy from that point onwards. We are aiming to settle down in Leeds and we have been made to feel so welcome, not just by the staff and players at the club but also the fans who have been great as well, the 26 year-old added.”

Head coach Brian McDermott added: “It is remarkable how well Mitch has fitted into our culture since he arrived here last year. He deserves a lot of credit for that because of his attitude and professionalism. The prospect of him having a full pre-season with us is exciting given how well he has settled in since he arrived and I am delighted he has committed his future to the club.”

Leave a Reply

