Wolves sign Ryan Bailey for 2016

Warrington Wolves have signed former Leeds Rhino Ryan Bailey for the 2016 season.

Bailey, 31, began last season at Hull KR but was released by the Robins at the end of March due to ‘personal reasons.’

The six-time Grand Final winner then joined Castleford Tigers, making six appearances for Daryl Powell’s men.

As well as his half-dozen Grand Final victories, Bailey also won three World Club Challenge titles with the Rhinos and made over 300 appearances during 12 years at Headingley.

Wolves’ head of coaching Tony Smith, who coached Bailey at the Rhinos between 2004 and 2007, said of his new signing via the club’s website: “It is no secret that Ryan has had a chequered past. However he is fully aware of the special conditions set out within his contract and the standards expected of all Warrington Wolves players. During my time coaching Ryan at Leeds we had a fantastic relationship and I never experienced any issues. He is fully aware that some of his past behaviours were unacceptable. However at times we need to give people a second chance. I have every faith that we can develop his game and see the solid and hardworking player I know he can be.”

Bailey added: “I am really excited by my move to the Warrington Wolves and  working under Tony again. There is a strong and exciting squad being assembled for 2016. It is no secret that in the past I have had some issues, but all that is now behind me. I had some of my best form under Tony, I think he knows how to get the best out of me. I can’t wait to meet up with the boys, knuckle down and get stuck in to pre-season. I’d like to thank Tony and Warrington Wolves for this fantastic opportunity.”

Leave a Reply

