Craven joins Rovers on loan

Danny Craven will join Featherstone Rovers on a one-year loan deal from Widnes Vikings.

The utility half-back has made 64 appearances for the Vikings, but only managed three starts for the Super League club in 2015.

The 24 year-old will wear the number one jersey for Rovers in 2016.

Rovers head coach Jon Sharp said via the Pontefract and Castleford Express: “I’m really excited to get Danny on board. He is an experienced player and brings some excellent attributes to the squad such as his strong kicking game.”

Craven also spent time on loan at Halifax and Whitehaven in the Championship last season.

“He has bags of pace and great footwork to not only create opportunities but to also finish chances created by others. His strike rate shows that he will bring another attacking dimension to our play and like the rest of our new recruits has a great attitude and very professional. He is an enthusiastic trainer and I think Danny will thrive in this environment,” Sharp added.

Craven said: “I’m an ambitious person and I want to work hard and nail down a spot in the side first and foremost. My aim is to get a consistent run of games, that’s when I play my best rugby league and perform to the level I know I can. I’m settling in well and once I start training fully with the rest of the boys I’m sure I will integrate in well.”

Leave a Reply

