Koukash to take up chief executive role at Salford

Salford Red Devils owner Marwan Koukash is to take on chief executive duties at the club.

The 57 year-old Kuwait-born businessman will take over the role from Martin Vickers.

Koukash took over Salford in January 2013, saving the club from financial difficulties and potential administration.

“I’ve been involved in the club for the last three years and I really didn’t take direct control of what goes on,” he told BBC Radio Manchester.

“It is a business I have now learnt a lot about and I want to try and put my business and commercial skills into action here and be involved in the day-to-day running of the club.

“In terms of rugby, I assure everybody out there, I have no involvement in the boss (director of rugby Tim Sheens) as I call him, as he is the one who will make all of the decisions.”

Leave a Reply

