Shenton to finish career with Tigers

Castleford Tigers skipper Michael Shenton has agreed a three-year contract extension with the club.

The new deal will keep the England international with the Tigers until the end of the 2019 season.

29 year-old Shenton, who is currently in his second spell with his home town club, has made 175 Super League appearances for Cas since making his debut for them in 2004. He moved to St Helens in 2011 before re-signing for Cas two years later.

Shenton enjoyed a fine season in 2015, scoring 14 tries in 28 appearances as the Tigers finished 5th in Super League.

“I’m absolutely delighted, and I’m really ambitious and excited to be part of this team,” Shenton told the club’s official website. “The new season looks special for us moving forward, and I’m really excited to stay here and finish my playing career at Castleford Tigers. I’m really enjoying my time here and we play a great style of rugby here that suits my game.”

“It was an easy decision for me to extend my contract. I really enjoy my role here as Captain and the brand of rugby we play should be even more exciting in 2016. It’s all about playing my best rugby for Castleford and being a good leader,” Shenton added.

Tigers head coach Daryl Powell said: “Michael has been a massively important player for us in the two and a half years I have been at the club, not just in his game and the quality of it you see on the playing field but his leadership off the field and his influence in the group is hugely positive and it’s great news when someone who has that higher standing within the club wants to stay on a long term deal.”

Leave a Reply

