Johnstone signs four-year deal with Wildcats

Wakefield winger Tom Johnstone has signed a new four-year deal with the club.

The 20 year-old, who came through Wakefield’s academy system, had an impressive debut season in Super League in 2015, scoring nine tries in 13 appearances for the Wildcats.

Johnstone had a short spell on loan at Championship side Featherstone Rovers in March before making his top-flight debut at the end of the month for Wakefield away at Wigan.

Johnstone told the Wildcats’ club website: “I am absolutely thrilled to say that I have signed a new deal with the club. I am excited to keep on developing under such an experienced coach such as Brian. I love the way the club is moving forward and I cannot wait to be a part of that for another four years.”

The club’s chairman, Michael Carter, added: “I am delighted that he has signed for the next four years. Tom has come through the Academy program and has established himself as a member of the first team squad. I am happy that he’s committed to us for the next four years. I have already turned down offers from other clubs for Tom.”

Leave a Reply

