RLIF reduces number of interchanges ahead of 2016

The Rugby League International Federation has reduced the number of interchanges from 12 to 10 per game from 2016.

The new rule will come into force for May’s ANZAC Test Match and for next Autumn’s Four Nations Series.

It means that the number of interchanges allowed in international matches will be the same as in Super League, which itself reduced the number from 12 to 10 in 2012.

However, Australia’s NRL teams are permitted only eight interchanges from this season, with the National Rugby League reducing the number from 10 to eight ahead of the 2016 campaign.

It was reported last summer that Super League was also planning to reduce it’s number of interchanges further to eight from 2017 to match the NRL’s current total.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s