White pens Vikings extension

Lloyd White has signed a two-year contract extension with Widnes Vikings, keeping him at the club until the end of the 2018 season.

The Wales captain joined the Vikings from Crusaders in 2012 and has gone on to make 88 appearances for the club, including 22 in 2015.

The 27 year-old hooker told the club’s website: “The Club approached me about a new deal and it was an easy decision to make. My family and I are settled here, and the boys are great to be around.

“I’ve been a bit unlucky in the last couple of years with injuries which is frustrating, but it’s part of the game. Hopefully this year I can concentrate on being more consistent.

“Reaching the top eight is the minimum we want to achieve this season. There’s no point being in this league if you aren’t aiming to reach that top eight.

“Playing for Widnes is my number one priority and I can see myself finishing my career here.”

Head coach Denis Betts added: “Lloyd has been with us for a long time and every year he is getting better and better.

“He’s on the cusp of fulfilling his potential, he’s had a few injury problems that he’s now got over, and as a player he can be whatever he wants to be.

“He can be one of the best number nines in Super League.”

Leave a Reply

