Bailey: It was the toughest thing I’ve ever done but the most rewarding

Ryan Bailey has spoken out about his battle with depression.

The 31 year-old, who has recently joined Warrington Wolves, was treated at the Sporting Chance clinic last year.

“I used Sporting Chance because I’d hit rock bottom and I got really bad depression. It was the toughest thing I’ve ever done but the most rewarding. I got a lot out of it and I wouldn’t be here at Warrington if it wasn’t for that,” Bailey told BBC Radio Merseyside.

“I never asked for help in my life for anything because it’s like weakness especially in a manly sport like this,” he continued.

The former Leeds Rhinos prop had short spells with Hull KR and Castleford Tigers, making a total of seven appearances for the two clubs last year.

“Leaving Leeds, my hometown club and a lot of good teammates there, and having to just get my head round that, I think I rushed into things with going to Hull KR,” he added.

Bailey joined the Wolves on a one-year deal but believes that he could play on beyond his current deal: “I’m getting older now but I’ve got four five years left in me feel fit and strong,” he said.

Leave a Reply

