Cunningham signs new Saints deal

Keiron Cunningham has signed a new deal with St Helens, keeping him at the club until the end of the 2018 season.

The 39 year-old, who made over 380 appearances for Saints between 1994 and 2010, became head coach of his hometown club at the end of 2014.

Cunningham told the St Helens club website: “The club initially gave me a two-year contract and I suppose it was a trial period to see how I bedded in.

“A lot of people think I got the shot because of my playing career – and yes, I’m sure it helped – but I work really hard off the field to improve as do all the coaches here to prepare the team the best we can.

“The contract extension rewards that effort and gives me stability and time to work with the team. It’s a case of not just trying to fix things but developing for the future. Now we can look forward.”

In his first season in charge, Cunningham led his side to the Challenge Cup and Super League play-off semi-finals.

“Of course there is pressure on me to succeed – as a player it was no different too. I feel I have to win a trophy every year. Saints before the Super League era wanted to be there or thereabouts but now there is an expectation. It is a business too; as a coach I have to understand that when we do well the club does well too.”

Leave a Reply

