Roberts signs long-term Giants deal

Oliver Roberts has pledged his future to Huddersfield Giants by penning a four-year contract with the club.

The 21 year-old back-rower made his Giants debut in the opening round of Super League XXI has featured in all three of Huddersfield’s games this season.

Roberts, an Ireland international, joined Huddersfield from Bradford Bulls in 2014 and his new deal will keep him at the John Smith’s Stadium until 2019.

“When I was approached I simply sat down for a few minutes and thought to myself I am very happy here,” Roberts told the club’s official website. “Its local to where I live and the training and fitness work is improving my game so why can’t I take the opportunity and really establish myself here in Super League.”

Head coach Paul Anderson added: “There is no doubt in my mind that Ollie has lots of improvements to come in his game and is someone that the club should invest in longer term. His body shape and general conditioning are starting to come together as he grows older and spends more and more time in our environment. He was unlucky last year with game time but he never complained about the situation and simply got his head down and worked hard for his chance to come.”

Leave a Reply

