Brierley joins Giants

Ryan Brierley has joined Huddersfield Giants from Leigh Centurions on a four and-a-half year deal.

The Centurions turned down two bids for the half-back from the Giants in February, however the 24 year-old handed in his notice of resignation at the beginning of March following the departure of head coach Paul Rowley.

Brierley told the Giants’ official website: “It is great to finally have my future sorted after a difficult few weeks. My time at Leigh on the whole has been superb for me and I have to thank them for their part in my development as a player and in particular Paul Rowley, who has been a big influence on my career and of course the Chairman and board at Leigh for giving me a chance in the Championship. The fans there have been superb to me and I really hope that the club can go on and achieve Super League status.”

Brierley joined the Centurions in 2012 and notched up an impressive 133 tries in 125 matches. That total places him fifth on the Centurions’ all-time top try scorers chart.

Leigh’s owner Derek Beaumont told leighjournal.co.uk: “I would rather remember Ryan for his contribution on the field which cannot be questioned and stands for itself. I shared some great times with him and will perhaps remember him jumping on me after the Challenge Cup victory over Salford the most.”

Brierley could make his Giants debut away to Wakefield on Good Friday.

 

 

Leave a Reply

