Achurch to leave Rhinos

Leeds forward Mitch Achurch has confirmed that he will leave the Rhinos when his current deal expires at the end of the season.

The 27 year-old, who joined the Rhinos from Penrith Panthers in 2013, has made 69 appearances for the 2015 treble-winners during an injury-hit spell at Headingley.

“I am off contract, but I got told last year I won’t be at Leeds after this season,” Achurch told the Yorkshire Evening Post.

“I knew this would be my last year at Leeds.

“There’s no contract talks with Leeds at the moment, so I’m a free agent,” he added.

Achurch currently runs a gym in the Armley area of Leeds and his partner, who lives in Australia, has recently given birth to their first child. Speaking of his next move, Achurch said: “The last time, when I made the decision to come to Leeds, I made it on my own.

“Now – three years later – I have got a kid to think of, so if and when some offers come in I will have to sit down with my missus and talk it through.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

