Jewitt to leave Castleford

Lee Jewitt will leave Castleford Tigers at the end of the season when his contract expires, the club have announced.

The 29 year-old former Salford player will join the North Queensland Cowboys’ feeder team, the Townsville Blackhawks on a one-year deal.

Jewitt, who joined the Tigers from French club Limoux, revealed that moving to Australia has been a lifelong ambition for him and his partner: “Bec and I have always wanted to live in Australia, we’ve dreamt of doing it all our lives and eventually we want to emigrate over there,” he told the club’s website.

“It will be really tough for me to leave Cas. I’ve dreaded this bit, I reckon if I was at any other club then I would just be doing my job, but this club is special, I love it here, and it’s not just me, when your kids are always talking about it and how much they love it, then yeah it’s going to be tough to leave here.”

Jewitt has made 28 appearances for Castleford and scored one try since making his debut in 2014.

Leave a Reply

