Vikings duo extend deals

Gil Dudson and Patrick Ah Van have signed two-year contract extensions with Widnes Vikings.

Welsh international Dudson has made 38 appearances for Widnes since joining from Wigan last year.

The former Crusaders forward told the club’s website:

“I am really pleased to have signed again and want to thank Denis and the coaching team for their support and efforts.

“Over the last year with the Club I feel I have developed as a player within the team and I am looking forward to building on the exciting things that are starting to happen here.”

Ah Van’s new deal will keep the former Bradford Bull at the Select Security Stadium until the end of the 2018 season.

Since moving to Widnes from West Yorkshire, the Auckland-born winger has racked up 386 points for the Vikings.

Ah Van said:

“When the Club approached me to re-sign I was only ever really going to sign here.

“During my four years here I have come to think of Widnes as home.

“The team is constantly improving, the Club is getting stronger and the work we do in the community gets better year on year and I am proud to be part of that.

“I want to thank the fans for their support over the last couple of years and I look forward to the future in black and white.”

Commenting on Dudson’s contract extension head coach Denis Betts said:

“Signing Gil to the Club for two years is a strong statement of intent by the Club and something we are very happy to announce.

“Gil has brought strength and size to the squad and has grown with the team showing potential and huge ambition.”

And of Ah Van’s deal Betts added:

“Pat is a strong and well thought of member of the squad. His try scoring record speaks for itself.

“I have said before what a great acquisition he has been for the Club and look forward to working with him in the coming seasons.

Leave a Reply

