Hitchcox extends Tigers stay

Jy Hitchcox has signed a new two-year contract extension with Castleford Tigers.

The 26 year-old outside back has impressed in his first season at Cas having signed from Featherstone Rovers last winter.

Hitchcox, who moved to England after a spells in the NRL with West Tigers, Gold Coast Titans and Melbourne Storm, has scored five tries in six appearances so far this season.

“I’m really excited,” Hitchcox said of his new deal via the club’s website. “It’s obviously a great club and I’m growing to love it here in Cas! Everyone has been really welcoming to me and I’ve made some good mates since I arrived. There’s a real good vibe throughout the club, all the way from the staff, the young players to the first team players, I’m really liking it.”

Head coach Daryl Powell added:  “Jy Hitchcox has shown so far what a good quality player he can be in Super League. His speed and footwork have caused plenty of trouble to defences and I’m confident he will continue to improve within our environment. I am delighted he has agreed a two year extension and I look forward to working with him during that time.”

Leave a Reply

